One Day I’m Gonna Play Vibes

In The Beginning And Still, To This Day...
In The Beginning And Still, To This Day…

At 16 years old, I was a local drum hero; played in great bands, all styles of music…

long-mcquade-68
The Single Window On The Left Had The Premier Vibraphone In The Window. I Guess It Was Screaming: “Dedicate Your Life To Me!”. That Really Is A Laugh Out Loud!

 

Then, one day, I walked by Long & McQuade in Toronto and saw this thing with tubes hanging down from some kind bar system. I just kept staring at it and found myself revisiting that window several times… addiction, attraction, compulsion; the actual vibraphone journey however, did not begin in Toronto; it began in 1974, Calgary AB Canada. From there, pretty well most nook and crannies in Canada and the USA. Europe is coming.

Now, I knew what it sounded like; I knew that you hit it with some kind of stick (excuse me, MALLET); that’s all I knew. The fact is, it chose me; I didn’t choose it!

Whatever It Is, It's Been Going On For Quite Awhile!
Whatever It Is, It’s Been Going On For Quite Awhile!

What I didn’t know was, for the next 45+ years, I would love/hate, stress over, cry, laugh and create amazing musical experiences with my musical alter-ego, the vibraphone. In this “building” process, I’ve had other vibraphones; for the last 18+ years, it’s all about my love affair with the Gold Monster.

“Piano players have been known to tickle the ivories. I guess I would be gliding the gold!”- Arnold Faber

Photo Op With The Gold Monster- I'm On The Right Photo: Shelly Faber
Photo Op With The Gold Monster- I’m On The Right
Photo: Shelly Faber

Me & My Gold Monster just a frolickin’ with the boys…

One thought on “One Day I’m Gonna Play Vibes”

Leave a Reply

